Places of interest
Dainuva Adventure Valley is an active leisure and entertainment park, located on the shore of the Šventoji in the Forest of Anykščiai. The park has 6 routes of different difficulty. This highest route goes up to a height of 13 meters. The youngest adventurers can enjoy the safe Kids Routes intended for 6-11-year-old children.
Didžioji g. 8, Plateliai ; Koordinatės: 369504, 6212682 (LKS); 56.030391, 21.906232 (WGS); 56° 1′ 49.41″, 21° 54′ 22.44″ (WGS)., 56.031895, 21.906382
This is the only exhibition in Europe located in one of the first former underground ballistic missile launching facilities of the Soviet Union. The historic exhibition tells of the five-hundred-year-long Cold War, which is considered to be one of the most famous and most dangerous military conflicts in world history.
The park has nearly 100 varieties of trees and bushes. The reconstruction of the park was completed in Autumn 2012. The park was decorated in benches with soft flowing shapes, modern and cost-efficient lighting solutions, flowers and a children’s playground in the resting area. The park also has three fountains and an amphitheater for chamber concerts.
In 1989, the scientists of the French National Geographic Institute determined the geographical centre of Europe to be in Lithuania, 26 km to the north of Vilnius. The Geographical Centre of Europe is marked with the composition of a prominent Lithuanian sculptor Gediminas Jokūbonis, intended to commemorate Lithuania joining the EU. The composition is a white granite column, the top of which is adorned in a crown of stars.
Since its opening in 1984, the Beekeeping Museum has become quite known not only in Lithuania but also abroad. Here, curious tourists might learn a lot about the history of Lithuanian beekeeping and the peculiarities of bees as well as enjoy some sweet moments of a unique form of entertainment. The Beekeeping Museum offers one-of-a-kind beekeeping-related education programs, the possibility to observe bees in their natural habitat through the glass window of a beehive and to enjoy beautiful nature and atmosphere.
Presently, Raudonė High School is established in Raudonė Castle, built in the 16th century. The restored 33.5-meter-high tower welcomes tourists to admire the beautiful vistas and loops of the Neman. The castle stands surrounded by an old park with promenades of rare varieties of trees. Unfortunately, the Gediminas Oak is no longer bearing green buds in the spring. According to the local myths, the Grand Duke of Lithuania Gediminas had his last lunch under this very oak on his way to Veliuona.
“Water treats everything, water does miracles, prevention is better than treatment”: such is the unique health care philosophy developed and perfected by German spiritualist Sebastian Kneipp in the 19th century. Kneipp Garden has been designed based on Kneipp’s recommendations and is intended for cold water procedures that tone the body and strengthen the immune system.
This Sugar Refinery Museum is the first such museum in Lithuania, a still operating refinery and a cultural heritage object of the old industry. The museum, also called the Lithuanian Sugar Club, has various exhibits from the history of the refinery operations, an authentic general manager’s office and the possibilities to taste some molasses or make one’s own coin. Visitors wishing to visit this unique museum can choose from two tours: the Sweet Town Tour and the Little Sugar Beetroot Journey. Both tours introduce visitors to the history of the oldest sugar refinery in Lithuania, the sugar production process and the museum established within the refinery. V...
Here, history does not hide in glass cages. Take a 15-minute-long trip across 700 years of Lithuanian history. Multilayered computer graphics, lasers and projections all work together to leave you with unforgettable impressions. You will view 18 corner stones of Lithuanian history selected by prominent Lithuanian historian Alfredas Bumblauskas.
Horse Museum is the only such museum in the Baltic States and is located in Niūronys Village near Anykščiai. The museum has large collections of exhibits related to Lithuanian horse-breeding. The museum has sixteen buildings, all with own exhibitions, a craft center and homesteads of Highlands style. The museum works hard to update its exhibitions, holds educational programs, demonstrates and teaches traditional crafts.
A complex of two masonry synagogues of the 19th century stands in the center of the city. The complex is comprised of the awe-inspiring White Summer Synagogue of the late classicism and romanticism and the Red Winter Synagogue of historicism period with neogothic elements (Miesto A. 4B). The restored synagogues became important cultural and representative centers of the city. The synagogues serve as venues for European Jewish cultural events, conferences and seminars, presentations of art and concerts, presentations of publications and exhibitions. The Red Synagogue boasts a restored and recreated unique interior: ceiling decorations, wall murals, Aron Kodesh, w...
Pakruojis Manor is a great example of the late classicism and the largest remaining complex of 26 buildings in Lithuania. The majority of the buildings date back to the end of the 18th century and the beginning of the 19th century. A total of 43 structures stand in the manor territory fenced in a masonry fence dating back to 1840. The manor’s park is over 150 years old and boasts as many as 26 varieties of trees.
Jonas Gižas Ethnographic Homestead is located in Dreverna (Žvejų St. 13). It is the only remaining Lithuanian homestead of a shipbuilder. The museum introduces the shipbuilding and fishing traditions in Pamarys Region. In the beginning of the 20th century, Jonas Gižas (1867–1940) lived here in the beginning of the 20th century. Following a major reconstruction of the homestead in 2010, the museum acquired an interactive four-part exhibition titled J. Gižas. Opening the Chest of a Shipbuilder... The first part of the exhibition is dedicated to the shipbuilding in the region of the Curonian Lagoon, presenting the shipbuilding technological processes and the...
Kurtuvėnai Manor Equestrian Center is surrounded by awe-inspiring nature that is both serene and teeming with life. The Equestrian Center is a home to over 40 horses and steeds and offers group and individual horse-riding lessons. Visitors can try their luck at horse riding or take an authentic chariot, wagonette or cart pulled by two horses for a ride along the routes of the regional park.
Pašiliai Auroch Paddock is one of the most impressive and visited sites in Panevėžys woods. Pašiliai Auroch Paddock is a home to the European bisons that are enlisted in both the Lithuanian and international Red List of Threatened Species. Presently, the paddock houses 15 aurochs and another 50 aurochs roam freely at the range of about 30-40 km around the paddock. Throughout the 35 years of its existence, Pašiliai Auroch Paddock saw the birth of 140 baby aurochs in the paddock and 80 baby aurochs in the wild.
Paežeriai Manor is famous for its classical music nights, educational programs, Sūduviai Craft Festival, Paežeriai Manor Festival, Viva La Musica Festival of ancient manor music and other events. Visitors can enjoy the newly constructed pedestrian walkways in the park and visit the old manor oak looked after the manor specialists. Paežeriai Manor changes its exhibitions regularly and upkeeps the 18th century surroundings for the enjoyment of its guests. Other manor buildings have museum exhibitions on the widely known past of Vilkaviškis Region.
Druskininkai is a resort city in the southern Lithuania. It is the oldest (dating back to 1794) and the largest balneology, curative mud and climate resort in Lithuania that is open all year round. Druskininkai Old Town is an urbanistic monument. The town has spas, water parks, hotels, restaurants, several parks and lots of leisure activities to enjoy.
This is the first path of such a kind in the Baltic States. The Treetop Walking path winds along the tree crowns for about 300 meters and rises up to the height of 21 meter. You can admire breathtaking views as you walk among the tree tops. If you are bold and brave, you can climb the 35-meter-high tower to take a look at Anykščiai Forest, the loops of the Šventoji and the surrounding planes.
Biržai Castle is located in Biržai, on the southern shore of Lake Širvėna. The castle is a bastion and is known as the best preserved bastion in northeastern Europe and the only such fort in Lithuania. Biržai Castle is a renaissance bastion castle and a historic and architectural monument.
Visit out Metal Fantasy Museum to admire unique exhibits from pieces of metal that were intended for destruction. The museum has over 800 exhibits representing the flora, fauna and modern improvisations. The Metal Fantasy Museum is an integral part of Pušelė Campsite under the open sky that is reborn at night in myriad of colors. Spending the night at our campsite is one of the rare chances to spend the night at the museum in Lithuania! See you soon!
Vilnius University Botanical Garden was established in 1781. The Botanical Garden has two land lots, one in Vingis and one in Kairėnai. With a total area of 199 ha, this Botanical Garden is the largest in Lithuania and has the widest collection of plants, including around 10,000 different varieties (around 190 families and 886 genera).
The Way of the Cross recreates the entire story of the Arrest of Jesus and the Sorrowful Way. The goal of this way of the cross was to recreate the topography of Jerusalem of the times of Jesus as close to the real one as possible and the orientation with respect to the cardinal points. The Way of the Cross is located in a beautiful spot of nature: steep slopes and deep ravines wind throughout the forest of the Neris and Cedronas valleys. The total length of the Way of the Cross, the distances between the stations in footsteps and even feet correspond to the respective distances in the Holy Land.
The Samogitian Art Museum has been opened at Michał Ogiński Manor since 1994. The museum collects and displays various valuables that reflect the Samogitian cultural and historical variety. The museum also works hard to nurture and preserve the traditions of Michał Ogiński Manor. The exhibits introduce pieces of professional art of the 20th-21st century gifted to the museum by Samogitian artists living in Lithuania and abroad.
The cognitive trail is 1.9 km long and winds through the most interesting parts of Dubrava Reserve. The path has 8 information boards that introduce the visitors to the local flora and fauna. Dubrava Cognitive Trail takes tourists through a 150-year-old forest, where thick sky-high pines groan and squeak from the lightest of winds.
In 2009, the only such Basketball Museum in Lithuania was opened in Joniškis. The museum has many exhibits, such as photographs of Lithuanian basketball stars, drawings telling the history of Lithuanian basketball and the roots of basketball in the world.
Kernavė is the Troy of Lithuania. The picturesque shores of the Neris and the amphitheater of Pajauta Valley are spotted with hillforts, where ancient settlements and burial sites can be found. The small territory of 194 ha in area has cultural valuables, an abundancy of archeological findings and a landscape that has taken years to develop. All of this tells us about the cultures that were prominent here 11 thousand years ago, i.e. from the late Paleolithic period (9 thousand years BC) to these days.
In the summer of 1929, Thomas Mann and his wife visited Nida for the first time. The novelist said they were “enraptured by the untold beauty and uniqueness of the local nature and the fantastic world of moving sand dunes” and thus quickly made the decision to have “a permanent home” here. The house of Thomas Mann was reconstructed to reflect the authentic one in 1995/1996 based on the remaining technical drawings of Architect H. Reissmann and the memories of Elisabeth Mann, the daughter of Thomas Mann.
Kirkilai Observation Tower is shaped like a canoe or a sinking boat and stands near Kirkilai karst lakes in Biržai Regional Park. The tower is almost 32 meters high. The observation deck is 30-meter-high and has the area of approx. 30 square meters. The first floor has an amphitheater of 27.75 square meters in area for various meetings, small events or resting. The purpose of the observation tower is to create the surroundings for visitors to learn about the main points of interest in Biržai Regional Park, such as the invaluable karst sinkhole relief in Kirkilai Nature Reserve.
Dino Entertainment Park offers family leisure and entertainment. The park has a number of moving and sound-making dinosaurs and other entertainment for children, such as Zorb balls, inflatable outdoor and indoor trampolines, carousel, a train, a shooting range and a paintball hall, a spring-based trampoline, archery range and swings.
A small oblong mountain with a hollow on top of it stands about 12 km to the north from Šiauliai, not too far from Šiauliai-Riga railway line. This is the famous Hill of Crosses. It has myriads of crosses placed all throughout its surface and is a symbol of respect and loyalty to the sacrifice of Jesus on the Cross, through which Jesus Christ saved the people of all times and generations. The Hill of Crosses is a reminder of the sufferings and death of our Savior and His resurrection and worship as well as the elevation of every man though the Mystery of the Cross. Those who travel to the Hill of Crosses to pray and to place their crosses signify the strength ...
Wake Up Kaunas is a wakeboarding park in Kaunas with one of the longest routes in Europe reaching up to 287 meters. WAKE LINE 3 is a two-tower automatic system of 12 meters in height. Wake Up Kaunas wakeboarding park is located in Lake Lampėdis within the territory of Kaunas Camp Inn Campsite.
Birštonas is a resort town in southern Lithuania, Kaunas County. It is the center of Birštonas Municipality, Diocese and Parish. Birštonas is a balneology and curative mud resort with its own natural mineral water sources. The main places of interest include Birštonas St. Anthony of Padua Church built in 1909, Vytautas Hill of 85 meters in height, Dainai Hill, three recuperation hospitals, Equestrian Center and Olympic Rowing Center.
The first church was constructed in the second half of the 15th century. In 1500, Anykščiai Parish Priest had a dispute with the manor manager regarding a dessiatin (a land measurement unit of that time) of the Kavarskis Manor. In 1507, the land lot of the parish priest was determined. In the middle of the 16th century, Anykščiai Church was one of the richest churches in Vilnius Diocese. The parish managed over a hundred homesteads. The church burned down in the fire of 1566 and was later rebuilt. The church burned down once again in 1671 to be rebuilt by 1677. In 1673, in addition to the town, Anykščiai Parish also managed Elmininkai Folwark, Kalveliai, ...
Come to Žuvintas to take a closer look to the world of nature untouched by man. Spring is the time of birds who come back here to hatch heir chicks while the summers witness the water birds raising their younglings. In autumn, cranes flock to Žuvintas before their migration. Even in winter time, visitors can see birds and traces of wildlife in Žuvintas Biosphere Reserve.
Juniper Valley is a natural slope of Kaunas Lagoon that is grown over in junipers. The valley is 5 ha in area. The Juniper Valley is a part of Kaunas Lagoon Regional Park and a natural monument of national significance. A pedestrian walkway stretches for 1.3 km along the edge of the slope in the upper part of the Juniper Valley. The trail was built in 2010. It offers beautiful vistas of the Neman, Dabinta Island and a breath-taking outcrop. In 2016, the Juniper Valley Trail was recognized to be the most beautiful trail in Lithuania. For more information, please visit our website at https://www.aplinkmarias.lt/lankytinos-vietos/kadagiu-slenis/
Ventė Cape Ornithological Station with a territory of 5 ha has been included into the List of State-Protected Areas. The great bird migration route passes through Ventė Cape. Sometimes, as many as 100–200 thousands of birds a day fly through here. Ventė Cape Ornithological Station has branded approx. 1.4 million of birds, among which were more than 200 species.
Telšiai is the capital of Samogitia and the cultural and educational center of the county and diocese. The city was built on seven hills and is located near the beautiful Lake Mastis. Telšiai is proud of its Old Town and the great number of places of interest and unique sites.
The National Vaclovas Intas Museum of Rare Stones and Park is a unique museum established in Mosėdis Town, Skuodas District, in a picturesque valley of 14.5 ha in area on both shores of the Bartuva River. The museum has a huge collection of rocks that were brought to Mosėdis and other places in Lithuania during the ice age, other Lithuanian archeological findings and minerals (both precious and semi-precious stones).
The Labyrinth Park is a great venue of entertainment for people of all ages. Here, you can try your luck in orienteering. The Labyrinth Park has four different labyrinths, a mini zoo, children’s playground and many other leisure activities for the whole family.
The Museum of Occupations and Freedom Fights was established in 1992. It is the only museum of such kind in the Baltic States and is housed in the same building where the People's Commissariat for Internal Affairs (NKVD) and People's Commissariat for State Security (NKGB/ MGB/ KGB) operated from the second half of 1940 to August 1991. The remand prison used to imprison and hold Lithuanian residents who had different ideas from the occupant government from autumn of 1940 to 1987 remained intact in the basement of the building. The visitors of the museum can view the exhibition located in the former death row facility.
Pažaislis Monastery consists of the Church of Our Lady of the Visitation and the Camaldolese Monastery which is considered to be one of the most beautiful examples of mature Baroque in the northern and eastern Europe. This monastery complex is a state-protected cultural monument and an operating monastery looked after and maintained by its residents, the Lithuanian Sisters of St. Casimir Congregation.
Europa Park is one of the most impressive open-air modern art museums, where art and nature are closely intertwined. The museum has over a hundred sculptures by various artists from all over the world, including works of such highly recognized artists as Dennis Oppenheim, Magdalena Abakanowicz and Sol LeWitt.
A new observation tower was opened for visitors in Dreverna Village, Klaipėda District on May 29, 2015. Standing tall at 15 meters high, this novel metal structure observation tower is located on the right shore of the Curonian Lagoon and is the highest of all nearby towers and the only tower to have one-legged metal chairs on its top. The observation deck has information stands with detailed information about the objects and sites that can be see with the naked eye. The tower provides views of the National Curonian Lagoon Park, the dunes and the lagoon itself. Dreverna with its nationally protected areas surround the tower from all sides. If lucky, visitors of...
The Bicycle Museum was opened in 2004. The exhibition presents the history and development of a bicycle from its invention days to present times. The bike is introduced as one of the oldest and most favored means of transport and a popular sport all over of the world.
The Bunny Valley occupies a fenced territory of about 3 ha and is proud to present over 50 different species of rabbits and bunny rabbits. The Bunny Valley also has red deer, pygmy goats (Cameroon goats), sheep, alpacas and various birds, such as ostriches, pheasants, turkeys, decorative chickens, geese, ducks, quails and other residents of the valley.
The old architecture of Vilnius and the variety of its styles are a great example of the development of this Middle European city. Vilnius has a mix of European gothic, renaissance and Baroque styles and is the farthest such city to the east. Vilnius Old Town was included in the UNESCO World Heritage List in 1994. The following was named as one of the criteria for enlisting Vilnius Old Town as a UNESCO heritage site: “Vilnius is a great example of a medieval city that has had a large influence on the Eastern European architectural and cultural development for several centuries”.
Zarasai District has more than three hundred lakes and has been awarded the title of the first cultural capital of Lithuania as well as the status of a resort territory. Zarasai is the region that has the most lakes in the entire Lithuania and is duly proud of Lake Drūkšiai and Lake Luodis which are some of the largest lakes in the country and Lake Sartai which has the longest shoreline out of all the lakes.
The coastal artillery battery is the defensive fortification of the Second World War that was built on the coast of the Baltic Sea after Klaipėda Region was annexed to Germany. Two coastal artillery batteries were supposed to be built but only the Memel Nord battery in Kukuliškiai was completed.
Raudondvaris Mano stands in the upper terrace of the right shore of the Nevėžis, near the confluence of the Nevėžis and the Neman. The main building of Raudondvaris Ensemble is the manor house with a tower dating back to the second half of the 17th century. The manor ensemble is comprised of the manor house, the park of 3.8 ha in territory, two servants’ quarters, the greenhouse, the stables and the ice cream parlor. Raudondvaris Manor Park holds traditional events, such as the National Day Festival, the farmer’s festival called Autumn Assembly, the Kaunas District Christmas Tree Lighting Festival and Land Art, the international land art festival.
The Spit Cake Museum was opened in 2015. The museum has a large collection of ancient cutlery and silverware dating back to a hundred of years ago that were used to make spit cakes. The exhibition also presents ancient and modern spit cake roasting spits and other interesting exhibits.
The National Museum of the Palace of the Grand Dukes of Lithuania has several permanent exhibitions reflecting the functions of the historical residency of the Grand Dukes. The exhibitions tell the historic and architectural development of the Palace, display the restored historic representative interior of the Palace, the Treasury and the Depository of the Grand Dukes.
The Samogitian National Park was established in 1991 in the northwestern Lithuania for the purpose of preserving, managing and using the most valuable natural and cultural sites of Samogitia. Visitors can enjoy fishing or take long walks along the educational trails. Lake Plateliai is perfect for sailing. Meanwhile, biking enthusiasts can choose from three different routes, one of which takes around Lake Plateliai.
Palanga Amber Museum has been opened in the Palanga Palace of Count Tyszkiewicz since the end of the 19th century. The Palace is surrounded by a large and beautifully looked after Palanga Botanical Garden. The museum has a collection of over 29 thousand amber exhibits, around 4.5 thousand of which are displayed in the museum. The exhibition is updated every year and supplemented with unique archeological findings, amber inclusions and other valuable exhibits.
The Devil Museum is the only such museum in the world and offers over 3 thousand exhibits of all kinds of devils, ranging from visual to applied art pieces, souvenirs and masks from Lithuania and as many as 70 foreign countries. Thousands of tourists who are curious to see the mysterious mythological creature of a devil visit this museum. The museum also has a beautiful tradition, where any visitor can gift a devil of their own to the museum.
This fallout shelter has a unique collection of monitoring and tracking equipment used by the People's Commissariat for Internal Affairs, abbreviated NKVD, Security Agency (KGB) and special police forces. The KGB Bunker has a display of secret break-in and search equipment, KGB phones and covert listening and coding devices. The museum also has a large collection of portable secret radio devices, radio transmitters and receivers, communication blockers, position finders, remote listening and spying devices, covert listening devices (bugs or wires) and their detection equipment.
Rokiškis Manor Ensemble is comprised of 16 buildings and a park of 28.1 ha in area with ponds. Rokiškis Manor was completed in 1801. Since 1952, Rokiškis Local History Museum has been established in the manor, offering over 100 thousand of exhibits. The museum has exhibitions of manor culture, Rokiškis local history, unique wooden artwork pieces by L. Šepka and Nativity scenes.